These are the doctors, nurses and reception staff working at Dargaville Medical Centre. 
We encourage you to develop a relationship with one doctor in the interests of continuity of care.


Dr. Derek Gibbons


Chairman. Special interests include rural hospital medicine.

Dr. Lawrie Herd

MBChB 1978 Liverpool, FRNZCGP

Honorary Senior Lecturer University of Auckland. GP teacher. Special interests include dermatology and minor surgery.

Dr. Michael Hogan

MBBCh 1978 NU Ireland, FRNZCGP

Special interests include long-term family medicine and teaching emergency care.

Dr. Liz Humm

MBChB 1988 Leicester, FRNZCGP, FDRHMNZ

GP teacher. Special interests include mental health and addiction and teaching of students and doctors.

Dr. Scott Davidson


Special interests include ophthalmology, skin surgery and emergency ultrasounds.

Dr. Stuart Norrie

MBChB 1979 Birmingham, DRCOG, MRCGP, FRNZCGP

General family medicine and minor surgery.

Dr. roz Godfrey

MBChB 1992 Auckland,  FRNZCGP

General family medicine.

Dr. Tama Herman

MBChB 2006 Auckland, FRNZCGP

Special interests include sport medicine.

Dr. cathy hurd

Bsc 1995 CCFP 2001 MD 1999 Saskatchewan, FRNZCGP

Special interests include general family medicine and quality control.

Dr. Neil Hopkins


Special interests include general surgery.

Dr. bev Hopkins

MBChB 1982 Otago, FRNZCGP

Special interests include women's health and Te Ao Maori.

Dr. Jim schimanski

MBChB 2009 Auckland,  FRNZCGP

General family medicine.

Dr. Steve thrupp

MA (Hons) 1999 Auckland MBChB 2006 Otago, FRNZCGP

Special interests include resuscitation, skin cancer and men's health.




Practice and Clinical Manager: Judy Harris


  • Sue Harris (Practice Nurse Manager, emergency nursing)
  • Gerard Van Der Harst (Ruawai practice nurse)
  • Rosemary Child (cervical smears, immunisation, smoking cessation, women's health, warfarin control)
  • Doey Sullivan (cervical smears, smoking cessation, women's health, asthma education)
  • Carolyn McNabb (skin recall, immunisation)
  • Candy Herman
  • Hayley Hutton (cervical smears, asthma education, women's health)
  • Angela Hansen (cervical smears, women's health and screening)
  • Ajesh Robi (emergency nursing)
  • Katherine Tahere (cardiovascular risk assessment)
  • Mandy Talijanicich (paediatrics)
  • Tracey Henderson (diabetes)
  • Grace Flight
  • Val Ridler (theatre)
  • Pauline Ioka

Office staff:

  • Jemma Douglas (reception/finance manager)
  • Carmen Beynon
  • Rosa Va'a
  • Tana Iosefa
  • Alisi Lama
  • Sherrill Morgan
  • Daryl Cathro
  • Janelle Foster
  • Diane McKenzie
  • Jaimee Lewis